Blog Details

Acota Investments website stamped SCAM BROKER, flagged by AEDFIX

Acota Investments Scam — “Since 1985” on a 2024 Domain

Verdict up front: Acota Investments (acotainvestments.com), styled “Acota Investments Limited”, says it was established in 1985 and is “protected by the Hong Kong government”. Its domain was registered in January 2024. New Zealand’s Financial Markets Authority put it on its warning list on 24 September 2026. Do not request the callback.

Website acotainvestments.com
Name used Acota Investments Limited
Domain registered 24 January 2024 — about two and a half years old
Regulator warning FMA (New Zealand), 24 September 2026, via IOSCO I-SCAN
Registrar Tucows Domains Inc.
Status Live today

“Protected by the Hong Kong government”

The about text says Acota “is protected by the Hong Kong government and is a participant in the Integrated Companies Registry Information System (ICRIS)”. ICRIS is simply the Companies Registry’s public search system. Appearing in it — which any registered company does — is not protection, supervision or a licence. The site gives no SFC licence number.

Forty years, two on the web

“Established in 1985” with “its main office in the center of Hong Kong”, yet the domain was first registered in January 2024 and no street address is printed. The only contact details are +852 3853 8489 and info@acotainvestments.com.

Contacted by someone from Acota Investments?

AEDFIX Support Banner

✉ EMAIL AEDFIX ABOUT ACOTA INVESTMENTS

Or write to support@aedfix.com — include the website, what you paid and any screenshots. Never send passwords or seed phrases.

A callback form, a South African flag

The homepage is built around “Make A Callback Request!” (with the typo “Fulle Name”), and the phone field defaults to the South African dialling code. Menu items include “Portfolio” and “Secondary Markets” — the language used in pre-IPO share pitches, where the victim is told they are buying shares before a listing.

Shared phone block

Its number sits in the same +852 3853 block as Capital Focus HK (+852 3853 8508) and Balham Investment (+852 3853 3725), both also flagged by New Zealand’s FMA this month.

⚠ Verified evidence

  • FMA (New Zealand) listed Acota Investments (acotainvestments.com) on 24 September 2026 (IOSCO I-SCAN).
  • Claims founded in 1985; domain registered 24 January 2024.
  • Claims to be “protected by the Hong Kong government” via ICRIS — a public search system, not a licence.
  • No SFC licence number and no street address.
  • Phone in the same +852 3853 block as two other FMA-flagged sites.

How to check

Look up any Hong Kong adviser on the SFC’s register of licensed persons. If someone offers you pre-IPO or “secondary market” shares by phone, treat it as a scam until the SFC register and the company itself confirm otherwise.

The verdict: Acota Investments claims a 1985 founding on a 2024 website, sells government “protection” that does not exist, collects callbacks, and New Zealand’s FMA has warned about it. Do not deal with it.

Tell us what happened with Acota Investments.

✉ EMAIL AEDFIX ABOUT ACOTA INVESTMENTS

Or write to support@aedfix.com — include the website, what you paid and any screenshots. Never send passwords or seed phrases.

Sources, checked 28 September 2026: IOSCO I-SCAN entry “Acota Investments” (acotainvestments.com) — New Zealand, Financial Markets Authority, 24 September 2026 · FCA register search (no match) · RDAP registration record for acotainvestments.com · the live page at acotainvestments.com, read in full

Leave A Comment